Canadian Magazine Industry News
22 April 2016,    
The COPAs celebrates its 8th year in 2016
The Canadian Online Publishing Awards (COPAs) is an industry showcase of Canadian talent in the digital publishing industry. Established in 2009, the COPAs have been the industry benchmark for digital excellence in Canada. Every year, 15 awards are given out in three divisions (B2B, B2C and News) as well as a Best of Canada award. The competition is open for all types of organizations that produce content for the digital medium in words, pictures, animation, audio and video.

The Best of Canada winners in 2015 were the Globe and Mail for Best Content, CTV News for Best solution for their news website and winning the Independent publisher of the year award. In 2016, regional winners/national finalists will be recognized for the Best of Canada Awards for the West, Ontario, Quebec and Maritime regions.

Martin Seto, the producer of the COPA Awards states “The awards are not just restricted to media organizations as there are awards for branded content, social media and online campaign for corporations and their ad agencies to enter.”

New awards for 2016 in the best website category, which will include one for Trade Media, Associations, Women’s Service, Men’s Service, Niche publications, Community News and Radio stations. There will also be a podcast award for the growing use of audio by content creators. There will be a special award for the Best Academic Project for schools across Canada to have more students participate in this national competition. Television stations can enter in the best multiplatform solution category, as they will be eligible this year.

The broadening of the awards program opens the door to new industry participation as part of the COPA mandate to promote all the great content in the evolving digital landscape with a level playing field for all entrants, and be as inclusive whenever possible. Today’s landscape has various forms of media crisscrossing each other on a wide range of platforms that include TV, radio, newspaper, magazine, computer, video games, tablet, and smartphones—and the 2016 COPAs will be a reflection of that. 

COPA 2016 Key Dates

Call for Entries - May 2
Entry Deadline - July 11
Finalists Announcement - Sept 14
Award Event - Nov – TBA, Toronto
COPA 2016 Rule and Categories

The call for entries begin May 2 and the 2016 Competition Rules and Categories have now been posted on the COPA website.  The COPAs always needs volunteers for judges and sponsors to make it happen each year, so if you or your company can help please let them know. You can follow the COPA awards on Twitter # COPAwards or Linkedin

Visit the website for judging info.

— Martin Seto
Story Tools
Most Recent News Comment
Jaded says:
Wow, Torstar really seems to be on a mission to bankrupt one magazine after another....
Most Recent Blog Comment
Marty Seto says:
Make Sure you Enter the COPAs this year. We have a FREE Covid-19 News category that is free to enter...
Martin Seto Gadget Blog
Martin Seto
Most recent posts:
Scott Bullock Covers Sell
Scott Bullock
Most recent posts:
Industry Guest Blogger Words of Inspiration
Industry Guest Blogger
Most recent posts:
Dennis Kelly 57 Media Spikes
Dennis Kelly
Most recent posts:
Norm Lourenco RGD Magazine Media Brandaid
Norm Lourenco RGD
Most recent posts:
Richard Johnson Off the Page
Richard Johnson
Most recent posts:
Special Reports